IND vs AFG: Rashid Khan takes 3 important wickets; Rishabh Pant, Virat Kohli, Shivam Dube depart

    After 11 overs, India has scored 90 runs for the loss of four wickets against Afghanistan at Kensington Oval.

    Rashid Khan and Virat Kohli

    Rashid Khan and Virat Kohli

    India had a mixed start to their ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024 Super 8s campaign against Afghanistan at Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados, losing their top three batters early. Skipper Rohit Sharma departed quickly, while Virat Kohli and Rishabh Pant attempted to stabilize the innings.

    However, both batters were soon dismissed by Afghan spinner and captain Rashid Khan. Pant fell first, scoring 20 off 11 balls, followed by Kohli, who made 24 off 24 balls. Later Shivam Dube, who came in to play spin, also could not stand in front of Rashid Khan as he had to walk back for 10 off 7 runs. Fans took to X (formerly known as Twitter) to speak about the bowler and his wicket-taking ability.

    Indian captain Rohit Sharma was dismissed by Fazalhaq Farooqi for 8 runs off 13 balls. Currently, Suryakumar Yadav and Hardik Pandya are at the crease. After 11 overs, India has scored 90 runs for the loss of four wickets.

    The Men in Blue are now seeking a partnership to regain control against Afghanistan, who have managed to take three crucial wickets.

    Earlier, India won the toss and chose to bat first, making one change by bringing in Kuldeep Yadav instead of Mohammed Siraj. Afghanistan also made a change, with Zazai replacing Karim Janat in the lineup.

    For the record, India has never lost to Afghanistan in their eight meetings in T20Is, winning seven matches and one game ending in no result.


    India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah

    Afghanistan (Playing XI): Rahmaah Gurbaz(w), Ibrahim Zadran, Hazratullah Zazai, Gulbadin Naib, Najibullah Zadran, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan(c), Noor Ahmad, Naveen-ul-Haq, Fazalhaq Farooqi.