IND vs PAK: Hum jeet gaye! India clinches thrilling win against Pakistan by 6 runs; fans in tears of joy

    Many even compared it to the time Virat Kohli had won the match against Pakistan in Australia, this time praising Jasprit Bumrah.

    India vs Pakistan

    India vs Pakistan

    After everyone wrote off India, including Indian fans — with many even going to sleep after seeing India's collapse — the Men in Blue did what they do best: put on a terrific show for the fans, especially against arch-rivals Pakistan. In the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024, the Men in Green literally lost a winning game, and India went on to win by 6 runs at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York.

    Needing a run a ball — 120 runs from 120 balls — Pakistan still botched a game that was in their control for the most part, despite playing all the overs and having wickets in hand. Indian fans, who had given up hope, woke up again, saw the game end in their favour, and cheered, especially on X (formerly known as Twitter). Many even compared it to the time Virat Kohli had won the match against Pakistan in Australia, this time praising Jasprit Bumrah.

    In chasing 120 runs, Pakistan started well with Mohammad Rizwan scoring and skipper Babar Azam also getting runs. However, the captain fell for 13 off 10, followed by a pattern of batters getting the same runs. Usman Khan (13 off 15), Fakhar Zaman (13 off 8), Imad Wasim (15 off 23), Shadab Khan (4 off 7), and Iftikhar Ahmed (5 off 9) did little. Naseem Shah scored 10 off 4, but it was too late.

    As always, Jasprit Bumrah proved to be lethal, taking three wickets and giving away just 14 runs. Hardik Pandya picked up two wickets as well, while Arshdeep Singh and Axar Patel dismissed one each.

    Earlier, India was all out for 119 runs in 19 overs, marking the first time Pakistan bowled out the Men in Blue in T20 Internationals. From 89/3 to 119 all-out, Pakistan demonstrated why they are considered an unpredictable team.

    After losing the toss and being asked to bat first, India believed 140 would have been a good score. However, the Pakistan bowlers displayed their strength, with Naseem Shah and Haris Rauf each picking up three wickets and Mohammad Amir claiming two. Shaheen Shah Afridi also took one wicket.

    Indian batters fell like a pack of cards, with only three players reaching double digits. Of them, only Rishabh Pant managed to score significantly, with 42 off 31 balls. Axar Patel, who was promoted up the order, scored 20 off 18, while skipper Rohit Sharma scored 13 off 12. Virat Kohli (4 off 3), Suryakumar Yadav (7 off 8), Shivam Dube (3 off 9), Hardik Pandya (7 off 12), Ravindra Jadeja (0 off 1), Arshdeep Singh (9 off 13), Jasprit Bumrah (0 off 1), and Mohammed Siraj (7* off 7) all departed in quick succession.


    India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh

    Pakistan (Playing XI): Mohammad Rizwan(w), Babar Azam(c), Usman Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Shadab Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Amir.