IND vs USA: India secures Super 8 spot with 7-wicket victory over United States amid penalty drama; fans react

    It is already stated that the Indian team will be facing Australia on June 24 in St. Lucia in the top eight games.

    Team India

    Team India

    At the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York, India's batting campaign did not go as anticipated despite holding the USA to 110 runs. Both openers, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma, were removed early by Saurabh Netravalkar. Despite this setback, the Men in Blue managed to secure the victory by 7 wickets in 18.2 overs to guarantee their berth in the Super 8 from Group A. It is already stated that the Indian team will be facing Australia on June 24 in St. Lucia in the top eight games.

    Rishabh Pant scored 18 off 20 after Kohli departed for a duck and the skipper went for 3 off 6. However, it was the partnership between Suryakumar Yadav and Shivam Dube that sealed the deal, with a little help from the USA receiving a penalty as well. SKY clinched his half-century, while Dube contributed 31 off 25 balls to take India to victory. India's chase of 111 runs stands as the most successful chase at the New York stadium.

    Regarding the penalty, after the end of the 15th over, the USA was docked with a five-run penalty for exceeding the 60-second limit to start a new over three times during the innings, which is penalized under the new rules.

    Apart from Saurabh Netravalkar, Ali Khan was the other bowler who managed to take a wicket, while no other US bowler succeeded. Fans took to X (formerly known as Twitter) to share memes and trolls after seeing the Men in Blue win the game.

    India had earlier won the toss and opted to field, limiting the USA to 110 for 8 thanks to four wickets taken by Arshdeep Singh, two by Hardik Pandya, and one by Axar Patel.

    After taking over for the injured skipper Monank Patel, Shayan Jahangir was out for a duck, while Andries Gous could only muster two from five balls. Aaron Jones, the stand-in captain, scored 11 off of 22, and Steven Taylor finished with 24 off of 30 before departing. 

    Corey Anderson scored 15 points off 12 while Nitish Kumar was removed after scoring 27 points off 23. A few more runs were added by Jasdeep Singh (2 off 7), Shadley van Schalkwyk (11* off 10), and Harmeet Singh (10 off 10).


    United States (Playing XI): Steven Taylor, Shayan Jahangir, Andries Gous(w), Aaron Jones(c), Nitish Kumar, Corey Anderson, Harmeet Singh, Shadley van Schalkwyk, Jasdeep Singh, Saurabh Netravalkar, Ali Khan

    India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj.