IND vs USA, T20 World Cup 2024: Fans fume as Shivam Dube concedes 11 runs in his first over

    After 16 overs, the USA scored 95 with 5 wickets down against India in the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024.

    Shivam Dube

    Shivam Dube

    For the first time in the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024, the Indian team gave the ball to all-rounder Shivam Dube in the clash against the United States at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York. However, it seemed things did not go in his favour as he conceded 11 runs in one over on a pitch known to assist bowlers more.

    In the over he bowled—the 8th—his first ball went for a four, then a run, then two dot balls, and his 5th ball was hit for a 77m six, with the 6th ball again being a dot. While this might not seem like much, fans who were already upset with his batting performance took to X (formerly known as Twitter) to express their frustration.

    As for the match, India won the toss and opted to field, with Arshdeep Singh claiming three wickets in the very first over. Hardik Pandya and Axar Patel also picked up one each. After 16 overs, the USA scored 95 with 5 wickets down.

    Shayan Jahangir, who came in place of the injured captain Monank Patel, departed for a duck while Andries Gous could only manage 2 off 5 balls. Standing skipper Aaron Jones got 11 off 22, while Steven Taylor made 24 off 30 before departing. Nitish Kumar too recently departed scoring 27 off 23.

    Currently, Corey Anderson and Harmeet Singh are at the crease and have started attacking the Indian bowlers.

    At the toss, the Men in Blue went unchanged while USA had to make two changes, Shayan Jahangir replaced Monank and Shadley is in for Nosthush.


    United States (Playing XI): Steven Taylor, Shayan Jahangir, Andries Gous(w), Aaron Jones(c), Nitish Kumar, Corey Anderson, Harmeet Singh, Shadley van Schalkwyk, Jasdeep Singh, Saurabh Netravalkar, Ali Khan

    India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj.