IND vs ZIM: Disappointed fans tell Rinku Singh, 'This is why Shivam Dube was in T20 World Cup squad'

    Rinku Singh's exclusion from the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024 had seen Shivam Dube being criticised heavily on social media.

    Rinku Singh and Shivam Dube

    Rinku Singh and Shivam Dube

    The Indian team's 2024 T20I winning streak is over! Zimbabwe, led by 38-year-old Sikandar Raza, achieved a historic triumph by dismissing Team India for 102 runs in 19.5 overs. The Men in Blue faced a 13-run defeat while chasing 116 runs scored by the host. Ruturaj Gaikwad walked back for 7 off 9 after debutant Abhishek Sharma went for a 4-ball duck, and Riyan Parag was out for 2 off 3.

    At last, Rinku Singh, the man for whom the entire nation had been waiting, also was dismissed for a two-ball duck. Fans were taken aback by his performance, particularly as they had cheered him on despite his omission from the 15-man squad for the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024. 

    Rinku Singh's exclusion had seen Shivam Dube being criticised heavily on social media. However, following Rinku Singh's out for zero, saw supporters taking to X (formerly known as Twitter) that this was the reason the all-rounder was selected over him.

    The Men in Blue lost by 13 runs in the match against Zimbabwe after being all out for 102 in 19.5 overs despite needing to score 116 runs. Tendai Chatara and captain Sikandar Raza shared three wickets apiece, with additional bowlers contributing. Luke Jongwe, Blessing Muzarabani, Wellington Masakadza, and Brian Bennett all claimed one wicket apiece. The top scorers for India were the captain Shubman Gill (31 off 29), Washington Sundar (27 off 34), and Avesh Khan (16 off 12).

    Earlier, Clive Madande (29 off 25) stayed till the end to help his side and became the highest scorer. Dion Myers (23 off 22), Brian Bennett (22 off 15), Wessly Madhevere (21 off 22) and Raza (17 off 19) all played cameos. Ravi Bishnoi picked 4 wickets while Washington Sundar had 2 to his name. Mukesh Kumar and Avesh Khan also picked one each.


    Zimbabwe (Playing XI): Wessly Madhevere, Innocent Kaia, Brian Bennett, Sikandar Raza(c), Dion Myers, Johnathan Campbell, Clive Madande(w), Wellington Masakadza, Luke Jongwe, Blessing Muzarabani, Tendai Chatara

    India (Playing XI): Shubman Gill(c), Abhishek Sharma, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Riyan Parag, Rinku Singh, Dhruv Jurel(w), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed.