IND vs ZIM: Washington Sundar takes 3 wickets, India triumphs by 23 runs despite Dion Myers' scare

    The Men in Blue won by 23 runs, taking a 2-1 lead in the 5-match series against Zimbabwe.

    <p>IND vs ZIM - BCCI</p>

    IND vs ZIM - BCCI

    Trying to chase 183 runs, it looked like the game was in India's hands. However, despite taking 6 wickets, Zimbabwe's Dion Myers stood like a thorn in the way as he remained not out with 65 off 49. While he continued to attack the Indian bowlers, one who looked lethal was Washington Sundar.

    The Indian all-rounder took three wickets in his 4 overs, giving away just 15 runs, and helping restrict Zimbabwe to 159 runs. The Men in Blue won by 23 runs, taking a 2-1 lead in the 5-match series. Sundar also went on to receive the Player of the Match award.

    As for the clash, Zimbabwe lost three wickets within the Powerplay, pushing them further on the back foot. Skipper Sikandar Raza (15 off 16) tried to counter-attack but was outsmarted by Sundar. The hosts lost half their side within 7 overs.

    However, Myers and Clive Madande (37 off 26) tried their best as they stitched a 77-run stand. Despite their efforts, it was not enough to secure the win. Besides Sundar, Avesh Khan picked up two wickets while Khaleel Ahmed contributed one. Ravi Bishnoi, for a change, went wicketless in this game, giving away 37 runs in his 4 overs.

    Earlier, among the playing XI were Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube, and Yashasvi Jaiswal - the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024 champions. After India's celebratory parade in Mumbai following their victory, they reunited with the team.

    Captain Shubman Gill's 66 off 49, Ruturaj Gaikwad's 49 off 28, and Yashasvi Jaiswal's 36 off 27, combined with some sloppy fielding by Zimbabwe, helped India post 182 runs on the board. Blessing Muzarabani and Raza were the two bowlers who took two wickets each.


    Zimbabwe (Playing XI): Tadiwanashe Marumani, Wessly Madhevere, Brian Bennett, Dion Myers, Sikandar Raza(c), Johnathan Campbell, Clive Madande(w), Wellington Masakadza, Richard Ngarava, Blessing Muzarabani, Tendai Chatara

    India (Playing XI): Yashasvi Jaiswal, Abhishek Sharma, Shubman Gill(c), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sanju Samson(w), Shivam Dube, Rinku Singh, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed.