IND vs ZIM: Zimbabwe upsets India; secures 13-run victory after visitors collapse to 102 all-out

    Although inexperienced, the Indian lineup included players who had already played international cricket, making this result unexpected for fans.

    IND vs ZIM - Zimbabwe Cricket Twitter

    IND vs ZIM - Zimbabwe Cricket Twitter

    India's winning streak in T20Is in 2024 has come to an end! Under the captaincy of 38-year-old Sikandar Raza, Zimbabwe secured a famous victory by bowling Team India out for 102 runs in 19.5 overs. The Men in Blue fell short by 13 runs, needing only 116 to chase.

    Although inexperienced, the Indian lineup included players who had already played international cricket, making this result unexpected for fans.

    Lowest all-out totals for India in T20Is: 102 is their lowest all-out total in T20Is in the last eight years

    74 vs Aus Melbourne 2008

    79 vs NZ Nagpur 2016

    92 vs SA Cuttack 2016

    101 vs SL Pune 2016

    102 vs Zim Harare 2024 *

    Talking about the clash, the Men in Blue saw debutant Abhishek Sharma depart for a 4-ball duck, followed by Ruturaj Gaikwad walking back for 7 off 9. Soon after, another debut player, Riyan Parag, did not stay long as he was sent back for 2 off 3, and finally, the man the whole country was waiting for, Rinku Singh, also departed for a 2-ball duck.

    With 4 wickets down, India was always playing catch-up. Skipper Shubman Gill (31 off 29) looked good while he was out there but was undone by Raza.

    From this wicket, it was only downhill as the required run rate kept increasing and India continued to lose wickets. Dhruv Jurel lasted for 14 balls and scored 6, while Ravi Bishnoi (9 off 8), Avesh Khan (16 off 12), and Mukesh Kumar (0 off 3) fell in quick succession.

    It was all on Washington Sundar, who had a slim opportunity to bail India out, but with 30 needed off the last 3 overs and just 1 wicket in hand, the task was formidable. He finally lost his wicket while trying to hit a big shot, getting out for 27 off 34, ending India's hopes as well.

    Tendai Chatara and Sikandar Raza both claimed three wickets each, while Brian Bennett, Blessing Muzarabani, Wellington Masakadza and Luke Jongwe all grabbed one each. 

    Earlier, Wessly Madhevere (21 off 22) for Zimbabwe was able to score after Innocent Kaia was dismissed for a duck. The wickets continued to fall, despite notable cameos from captain Sikandar Raza (17 off 19), Brian Bennett (23 off 15), and Dion Myers (23 off 22). Luke Jongwe was sent back for just a run, while Wellington Masakadza, Blessing Muzarabani, and Jonathan Campbell were dismissed for ducks. Clive Madande (29 off 25) fought till the very end, hitting some nice boundaries and strokes, but he received little assistance from the opposition.

    Washington Sundar (2) and Ravi Bishnoi (4), two Indian spinners, combined to take six wickets. Mukesh Kumar and Avesh Khan also scalped one each while one wicket was a run-out.


    Zimbabwe (Playing XI): Wessly Madhevere, Innocent Kaia, Brian Bennett, Sikandar Raza(c), Dion Myers, Johnathan Campbell, Clive Madande(w), Wellington Masakadza, Luke Jongwe, Blessing Muzarabani, Tendai Chatara

    India (Playing XI): Shubman Gill(c), Abhishek Sharma, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Riyan Parag, Rinku Singh, Dhruv Jurel(w), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed