Is it the catch of the tournament? Axar Patel's blinder sends back Australia captain Mitchell Marsh

    Axar Patel, who reacted a bit late, leapt and managed to snatch it out of the air with his non-dominant right hand.

    Axar Patel - BCCI

    Axar Patel - BCCI

    WOW! That's all anyone could say after witnessing the catch taken by Axar Patel to dismiss Australia captain Mitchell Marsh for 37(28) in the game at the Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium in Gros Islet, St Lucia. The ball was travelling at great speed and seemed destined for a six.

    However, Axar, who reacted a bit late, leapt and managed to snatch it out of the air with his non-dominant right hand. The stunning catch by the spinner prompted fans to take to social media, especially X (formerly Twitter), to praise the fielder and suggest it could be the catch of the tournament.

    Currently, Australia has posted 141 runs and lost four wickets in 15 overs. The side needs 65 runs in 30 balls to win with Travis Head and Tim David at the crease. Kuldeep Yadav and Arshdeep Singh have so far picked one each.

    India posted 205 runs on the board after losing five wickets in their 20 overs. Virat Kohli departed for a five-ball duck, and Rishabh Pant followed after scoring 15 off 14 balls. However, Rohit Sharma played a crucial innings, scoring 92 off 41 balls.

    Suryakumar Yadav added 31 off 16 balls, while Shivam Dube scored 28 off 22. Vice-captain Hardik Pandya remained not out on 27 off 17 balls, with Ravindra Jadeja contributing 9 off 5 balls.

    For the Aussies, Mitchell Starc and Marcus Stoinis picked two wickets each and Josh Hazlewood had one to his name.

    Earlier, Australia won the toss and chose to field first. This match is crucial for both teams to secure their spots in the tournament's semi-finals. On the sidelines, Afghanistan will also be hoping for India's victory to make their path to the Top 4 a bit easier.


    India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah

    Australia (Playing XI): Travis Head, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh(c), Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Matthew Wade(w), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood.