T20 World Cup 2024: Two points in the bag for Team India, defeat Ireland in 12.2 overs

    The Men in Blue chased down the target in 12.2 overs after bowling Ireland out for 96 in 16 overs.

    Team India

    Team India

    Team India started their campaign in the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024 with a strong performance, defeating Ireland by 8 wickets in their first match at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York. The Men in Blue chased down the target in 12.2 overs after bowling Ireland out for 96 in 16 overs.

    With this victory, Team India secured two points and a very positive Net Run Rate (NRR) of +3.065. This marks Ireland's eighth defeat in as many T20Is against India.

    Regarding the match, skipper Rohit Sharma led from the front with a half-century, although he had to retire hurt after being hit on the arm. At the post-match presentation, he said, "Yeah, just a little sore (the arm)." 

    Rishabh Pant was the other batter who stayed till the end, scoring 36 off 26 balls. Virat Kohli (1 off 5), Suryakumar Yadav (2 off 4), and Shivam Dube (0* off 2) did not contribute much. Mark Adair and Benjamin White were the two Ireland bowlers who managed to take wickets.

    Earlier, Arshdeep Singh and Jasprit Bumrah each claimed two wickets, while Hardik Pandya emerged as India's most effective bowler with three. Mohammed Siraj and Axar Patel also contributed with one wicket each, as the Irish squad was bowled out for 96 runs.

    Gareth Delany was the top scorer with 26 off 14, followed by Joshua Little with 14 off 13. The other batsmen, including Benjamin White (2* off 4), George Dockrell (3 off 5), Mark Adair (3 off 2), Barry McCarthy (0 off 6), Andrew Balbirnie (5 off 10), Paul Stirling (2 off 6), Lorcan Tucker (10 off 13), Harry Tector (4 off 16), Curtis Campher (12 off 8), and Harry Dockrell (3 off 5), departed in quick succession.

    IND vs IRE teams:

    India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj

    Ireland (Playing XI): Paul Stirling(c), Andrew Balbirnie, Lorcan Tucker(w), Harry Tector, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Gareth Delany, Mark Adair, Barry McCarthy, Joshua Little, Benjamin White