IPL 2024 Eliminator - R Ashwin takes back-to-back wickets, RCB 97/4 vs RR

    R Ashwin dismissed Cameron Green and Glenn Maxwell in quick succession at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

    R Ashwin

    R Ashwin

    In the Eliminator of the Indian Premier League (IPL) between Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), the team that made a comeback to enter the Playoffs did not have a good start with the bat, losing four wickets and scoring 97 runs in 13 overs.

    Adding salt to their wounds, R Ashwin dismissed Cameron Green and Glenn Maxwell in quick succession at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. Ashwin finished with figures of 2/19 on a pitch that offered little assistance to spinners.

    Rovman Powell had to run back from extra cover and take a difficult catch off balance. Ashwin was rewarded for his brilliant bowling spell with a wicket from a carrom ball. Green went on to back away to loft it but toe-ended it high and departed for 27 (21) [4s-2 6s-1].

    Soon after, Maxwell, who came to the crease, did not stay long. It was a fullish carrom ball from Ashwin that tempted Maxwell, and he fell into the trap, slogging it straight to long-on and departing for a duck. Ashwin was overjoyed while Virat Kohli fumed in the dugout.

    Most ducks in the IPL

    18 - Dinesh Karthik

    18 - Glenn Maxwell

    17 - Rohit Sharma

    16 - Piyush Chawla

    16 - Sunil Narine

    As of writing this article, 16 overs have been completed, and RCB has scored 134 runs while losing five wickets. Mahipal Lomror is at the crease with Dinesh Karthik.

    Earlier, RR won the toss and opted to field first against RCB. While RR made one change, bringing Shimron Hetmyer back into their squad, RCB went with the same winning combination at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.


    Royal Challengers Bengaluru (Playing XI): Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis(c), Rajat Patidar, Cameron Green, Glenn Maxwell, Dinesh Karthik(w), Mahipal Lomror, Karn Sharma, Yash Dayal, Mohammed Siraj, Lockie Ferguson

    Impact Subs: Swapnil Singh, Anuj Rawat, Suyash Prabhudessai, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Himanshu Sharma

    Rajasthan Royals (Playing XI): Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Sanju Samson(w/c), Riyan Parag, Dhruv Jurel, Rovman Powell, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Yuzvendra Chahal

    Impact Subs: Shubham Dubey, Donovan Ferreira, Nandre Burger, Shimron Hetmyer, Tanush Kotian