IPL 2024 Qualifier 1 - Mitchell Starc gets his Aussie teammate, Travis Head departs for a DUCK

    As of writing this article, another wicket has fallen as both SRH openers have returned to the dressing room.

    Travis Head and Mitchell Starc

    Travis Head and Mitchell Starc

    What a start to the Qualifier 1 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024! In the clash between Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), the second-placed team got off to a very good start as pacer Mitchell Starc got the better of his teammate Travis Head on his second delivery. 

    The Australian pacer dismissed his compatriot Head for a duck. Starc knocked him over with an absolute beauty. This was like a repeat of Head getting bowled out early in the previous game against Punjab Kings (PBKS).

    Travis Head in the last two matches:

    0(1) vs PBKS (bowled Arshdeep Singh)

    0(2) vs KKR (bowled Mitchell Starc)*

    Fans took to X (formerly known as Twitter) to discuss the wicket and speak about how a big player stands up for the team when needed.

    As of writing this article, another wicket has fallen as both openers have returned to the dressing room. After Head, Abhishek Sharma did not stay for long as Vaibhav Arora got the better of him. The length delivery stuck a little and did not come as quickly as Abhishek Sharma (3 off 4) expected.

    This caused him to try to force the drive through the off-side. However, he ended up slicing it off the top half towards cover, where Andre Russell timed his jump to perfection, claiming a well-judged catch above his head.

    Currently, SRH has scored 13 runs and lost 2 early wickets in 2 overs — the dismissals of their main scorers of this season. Sunrisers Hyderabad won the toss and opted to bat. Both teams have stuck with the same lineup, making minimal changes.


    Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Rahmaah Gurbaz(w), Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Shreyas Iyer(c), Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Ramandeep Singh, Mitchell Starc, Vaibhav Arora, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakaravarthy

    Impact Subs: Anukul Roy, Manish Pandey, Nitish Rana, KS Bharat, Sherfaine Rutherford

    Sunrisers Hyderabad (Playing XI): Travis Head, Abhishek Sharma, Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Reddy, Heinrich Klaasen(w), Abdul Samad, Shahbaz Ahmed, Pat Cummins(c), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth, T Natarajan

    Impact Subs: Sanvir Singh, Umran Malik, Glenn Phillips, Washington Sundar, Jaydev Unadkat