IPL 2025 - Players each team would look to retain ahead of Mega Auction

    Fans are already speculating about which players they want their favourite teams to retain from the existing pool. 

    IPL 2025

    IPL 2025

    As the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 is done and dusted, fans are now already looking forward to the mega auction for the 2025 season. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has confirmed a mega auction before the next edition, and the first step will be the retentions. 

    Fans are already speculating about which players they want their favourite teams to retain from the existing pool. Let's take a team-wise look and we will go according to the IPL 2024 Points table from the bottom to the top.

    Mumbai Indians (MI):

    The team with some of the most match-winning players could not come together to win games for their franchise after a new captain was introduced for IPL 2024. Out of the 14 games they played, they won just 4 and lost 10, with a -0.318 NRR (Net Run Rate).

    Contenders: Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Suryakumar Yadav, Rohit Sharma, Tilak Varma, Tim David

    Punjab Kings (PBKS):

    The year 2024 did not go in favour of PBKS as they lost very close games, but they did produce some exciting young Indian talent. Finishing on the 9th spot winning 5 games and losing 9 of their 14 clashes, they had a NRR of -0.353.

    Contenders: Sam Curran, Arshdeep Singh, Shashank Singh, Ashutosh Sharma

    Gujarat Titans (GT):

    With their captain leaving for another franchise, they handed over the leadership to a young Indian, but it did not work out for them. They found themselves in the 8th spot, winning 5 games and losing 7, with 2 games being washed out due to rain and an NRR of -1.063.

    Contenders: Shubman Gill, Sai Sudharsan, Mohammed Shami, David Miller, Rashid Khan, Rahul Tewatia, Noor Ahmad

    Lucknow Super Giants (LSG):

    It was not the season LSG would have expected, especially after a strong start but faltering in the middle. Many fans even want the captain to return to Bengaluru, as they finished in the 7th spot with 7 wins and as many losses after 14 games, with an NRR of -0.667.

    Contenders: KL Rahul, Nicholas Pooran, Marcus Stoinis, Mayank Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohsin Khan, Ayush Badoni

    Delhi Capitals (DC):

    Their captain made a return to cricket after a serious accident, which was a reason to cheer. However, performance-wise, they had a mixed year, winning 7 and losing 7 after 14 games, with an NRR of -0.377.

    Contenders: Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Tristan Stubbs, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Axar Patel

    Chennai Super Kings (CSK):

    Missed out on making it to the Playoffs with a close fight against RCB, Chennai, under a new captain, also had 7 wins and 7 losses after 14 games, with an NRR of 0.392. With 2024 likely being MS Dhoni's last year of play, fans can expect him not to be retained.

    Contenders: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Matheesha Pathirana, Tushar Deshpande

    Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB):

    After winning just 1 of their 8 matches at the start of the 2024 season in April, they made a strong comeback and went on to win 7 games in a row in May to qualify for the Playoffs. They also finished with 7 wins and 7 losses from the 14 games but boasted a good NRR of 0.459.

    Contenders: Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Mohammed Siraj, Cameron Green, Glenn Maxwell, Will Jacks

    Rajasthan Royals (RR):

    They appeared to be strong contenders to win the IPL 2024, however, they began losing matches in May, slipping from the top spot to the 3rd position. They were unable to secure a spot in the Final after losing to SRH. They finished with 8 wins and 5 losses, with 1 game abandoned due to rain and an NRR of 0.273.

    Contenders: Sanju Samson, Riyan Parag, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jos Buttler, Trent Boult, Shimron Hetmyer

    Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH):

    Under the leadership of the World Cup-winning Australian captain, they had a commendable season with 8 wins, 5 losses, and 1 match abandoned due to rain, boasting an NRR of 0.414. Despite their success, they faced defeat in the one-sided Final.

    Contenders: Pat Cummins, Travis Head, Heinrich Klaasen, Abhishek Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Nitish Kumar Reddy

    Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR):

    The champions of the IPL 2024 season had a splendid campaign, securing 9 wins and suffering 3 losses, with 2 games abandoned due to rain, and boasting a highly positive NRR of 1.428. In the final, they played to win, not allowing SRH to settle either with the bat or the ball, ultimately claiming the title.

    Contenders: Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Shreyas Iyer, Rinku Singh, Varun Chakaravarthy, Venkatesh Iyer