'Rain please don't ruin THIS match' - Fans pray for rain-free game hours before RCB vs CSK clash

    Fans want to witness the iconic clash that will decide the final Playoff spot for one team.

    RCB vs CSK

    RCB vs CSK

    It's D-day, and just hours from now, the big clash of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 between Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is all set to take place. However, ahead of the clash, one factor that has cricketers, experts, and fans dreading is the rain. 

    There is an 80% forecast for rain expected to hit the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium around match-start time. The sub-surface aeration at the stadium should facilitate a quick restart. However, before the start of the game, fans took to X (formerly known as Twitter) to pray for a rain-free game to witness the iconic clash that will decide the final Playoff spot for one team.

    About RCB and CSK:

    The team from Bengaluru had a poor start to the IPL 2024 season, losing seven out of the first eight matches and sitting in the 10th spot. However, they scripted a remarkable turnaround, winning their following five games on the trot to revive their campaign, now sitting in the 7th position.

    RCB became the 4th side to have sequences of five successive wins and defeats each in the same season. Deccan Chargers (DC) in 2010, Punjab Kings (PBKS) in 2020, and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in 2022 are the other teams to have such mixed league runs.

    As for CSK, they are chasing their 13th visit to the final four in 15 seasons. The team from Chennai has not won more than two in a row at any point this season. They are also without their main bowlers who have returned to their respective countries for national duties.


    Royal Challengers Bengaluru: Faf du Plessis(c), Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Glenn Maxwell, Cameron Green, Mahipal Lomror, Dinesh Karthik(w), Karn Sharma, Mohammed Siraj, Lockie Ferguson, Yash Dayal, Swapnil Singh, Anuj Rawat, Suyash Prabhudessai, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Himanshu Sharma, Mayank Dagar, Manoj Bhandage, Tom Curran, Alzarri Joseph, Akash Deep, Saurav Chauhan, Rajan Kumar

    Chennai Super Kings: Rachin Ravindra, Ruturaj Gaikwad(c), Daryl Mitchell, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni(w), Shardul Thakur, Tushar Deshpande, Simarjeet Singh, Maheesh Theekshana, Ajinkya Rahane, Sameer Rizvi, Prashant Solanki, Ajay Jadav Mandal, Mukesh Choudhary, Mitchell Santner, Richard Gleeson, RS Hangargekar, Shaik Rasheed, Nishant Sindhu, Aravelly Avanish.