IND vs PAK: Will the India vs Pakistan match face a 'WASHOUT' due to rain in New York? Weather report for the T20 World Cup blockbuster

    While fans expect to see a strong game between the two sides, many are wary of the weather conditions.

    Team India

    Team India

    The much-anticipated clash between India and Pakistan in the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024 is less than 24 hours away. The two arch-rivals, who are part of Group A, will play at the Nassau County Cricket Stadium in New York on Sunday. India holds an edge over Pakistan due to their recent form but knows their wounded arch-rivals cannot be taken for granted.

    The Rohit Sharma-led side is coming into this match after beating Ireland by 8 wickets in a one-sided game. Meanwhile, the Babar Azam-led Pakistan faced one of the biggest upsets as they lost against the USA in the super-over. While fans expect to see a strong game between the two sides, many are wary of the weather conditions.

    So will rain play spoilsport?

    Rain is expected to threaten the match in New York on June 9. AccuWeather's forecast predicts a 51 per cent chance of rain at 11 AM local time (8:30 PM IST), which is half an hour after the start of the match.

    Since it's a day game, extra time is likely to be allotted if the rain causes a delay or interruption. However, it is highly unlikely that the players will wait until the afternoon for the match to start. While the current weather forecast suggests that rain might interrupt the proceedings, there's a significant possibility that the fans could witness a full 20-overs-a-side match.

    What happens if IND vs PAK T20 World Cup match gets washed out?

    A washout would provide a lifeline to the Men in Green, who lost their first match against the USA. If the game is abandoned, both India and Pakistan will share a point.

    New York weather

    IND vs PAK Squads:

    India: Rohit Sharma (c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal, Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube.

    Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Saim Ayub, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Haris Rauf, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Amir, Abbas Afridi, Usman Khan, Abrar Ahmed.