IPL 2024 - Dinesh Karthik gets a guard of honour; CSK's Tushar Deshpande trolls RCB after loss

    The crowd at the Narendra Modi Stadium was also heard chanting "DK, DK" as he walked back to the RCB dressing room.

    <p>RCB's Dinesh Karthik and CSK bowler Tushar Deshpande</p>

    RCB's Dinesh Karthik and CSK bowler Tushar Deshpande

    Not the farewell Dinesh Karthik would have hoped for, but without any drama, the man came, scored runs, and did his job as he bid adieu to the Indian Premier League (IPL). After serving as one of the great finishers for Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB), he was given a guard of honour by his teammates as they left the stadium.

    The crowd at the Narendra Modi Stadium was also heard chanting "DK, DK" as he walked back to the RCB dressing room, with his teammates following. Fans shared various videos from the stadium on X (formerly known as Twitter).

    As for the clash, RCB's six-win streak was broken as they lost to Rajasthan Royals (RR) in the IPL 2024 Eliminator. Amid all the trolling, especially from Chennai Super Kings (CSK) fans. 

    RCB defeated CSK in their last league game, which the Yellow Army fans still have not taken sportingly. Even their bowler Tushar Deshpande posted a picture on his Instagram story trolling the RCB team.

    Talking about the team from Bengaluru, they put up a fight despite scoring just 172 runs. Rovman Powell smashed a six when his side needed 5 runs to win, crushing all hopes for RCB. It was a difficult task from the start for RCB, who had lost the toss and had to bowl in the 2nd innings with the onset of dew.

    However, making it to the Playoffs was also a far-fetched dream as the team was sitting in the 10th spot after winning just one game out of their 8 matches in April. However, in comes the month of May and their fortunes turned as they won 6 games on the trot. With other teams' performances going their way, they became the last team to enter the Top 4. 


    Royal Challengers Bengaluru (Playing XI): Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis(c), Rajat Patidar, Cameron Green, Glenn Maxwell, Dinesh Karthik(w), Mahipal Lomror, Karn Sharma, Yash Dayal, Mohammed Siraj, Lockie Ferguson

    Impact Subs: Swapnil Singh, Anuj Rawat, Suyash Prabhudessai, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Himanshu Sharma

    Rajasthan Royals (Playing XI): Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Sanju Samson(w/c), Riyan Parag, Dhruv Jurel, Rovman Powell, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Yuzvendra Chahal

    Impact Subs: Shubham Dubey, Donovan Ferreira, Nandre Burger, Shimron Hetmyer, Tanush Kotian.