IPL 2024 Eliminator - RCB's six-win streak comes to an end; RR to face SRH in Qualifier 2 as they win by 4 wickets

    Rovman Powell smashed a six when his side needed 5 runs to win, crushing all hopes for RCB.

    RCB vs RR

    RCB vs RR

    Royal Challengers Bengaluru's (RCB) six-win streak was broken as they lost to Rajasthan Royals (RR) in the Eliminator of the Indian Premier League (2024). The Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, packed mostly with RCB - primarily Virat Kohli - jerseys, saw fans heartbroken as chants of 'Ee Sala Cup Namde' were left unheard.

    Rovman Powell smashed a six when his side needed 5 runs to win, crushing all hopes for RCB. It was a difficult task from the start for RCB, who had lost the toss and had to bat first and later bowl in the 2nd innings with the onset of dew. With this 4-wicket win, RR will face Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the Qualifier 2.

    Chasing 173 runs, Rajasthan Royals (RR) received two lifelines with dropped catches. Tom Kohler-Cadmore was saved after Glenn Maxwell dropped him, but he later departed for 20 off 15 balls. He was followed by Yashasvi Jaiswal, who scored 45 off 30, and skipper Sanju Samson, who made 17 off 13. Dhruv Jurel was run out after an electric throw from Virat Kohli.

    However, Riyan Parag held his own, augmenting what has been a breakthrough season for him. He went on to score 36 off 26 before Siraj clean bowled him – but it was too late. In the same over, Shimron Hetmyer also departed for 26 off 14. With Rovman Powell (16 off 8) and R Ashwin at the crease, it was not a difficult task to finish the game.

    For RCB, Mohammed Siraj picked up two wickets, while Lockie Ferguson, Karn Sharma, and Cameron Green each claimed one.

    Earlier, in 20 overs, RCB scored 172 runs while losing eight wickets. Captain Faf du Plessis scored 17 off 14, while Virat Kohli scored 33 off 24. Cameron Green added 27 off 21, and Rajat Patidar smashed 34 off 22. Glenn Maxwell, like most of his games this year, was unable to put up much of an effort and departed for a duck. After scoring 32 off 17, attacking player Mahipal Lomror was also dismissed. Ultimately, a few more runs were added by Karn Sharma (5 off 4) and Swapnil Singh (9 off 4).

    Avesh Khan took three wickets for RR, while Ravichandran Ashwin claimed two. Yuzvendra Chahal and Trent Boult each took one wicket.


    Royal Challengers Bengaluru (Playing XI): Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis(c), Rajat Patidar, Cameron Green, Glenn Maxwell, Dinesh Karthik(w), Mahipal Lomror, Karn Sharma, Yash Dayal, Mohammed Siraj, Lockie Ferguson

    Impact Subs: Swapnil Singh, Anuj Rawat, Suyash Prabhudessai, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Himanshu Sharma

    Rajasthan Royals (Playing XI): Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Sanju Samson(w/c), Riyan Parag, Dhruv Jurel, Rovman Powell, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Yuzvendra Chahal

    Impact Subs: Shubham Dubey, Donovan Ferreira, Nandre Burger, Shimron Hetmyer, Tanush Kotian.