IPL 2024 Eliminator - Fans unhappy with Dinesh Karthik given NOT OUT, blame poor 3rd umpiring

    In the allotted 20 overs, RCB has scored 172 runs while losing eight wickets against RR.

    Avesh Khan and Dinesh Karthik

    Avesh Khan and Dinesh Karthik

    In the Eliminator of the Indian Premier League (IPL) between Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), after R Ashwin's impressive performance, pacer Avesh Khan almost got two back-to-back wickets. However, RCB batter Dinesh Karthik, who would have been out for a duck, went for a review and got a lifeline at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

    In the 14.3 over, Karthik was given out LBW. But the RCB batter went for the review, and the replay showed the delivery was full and straight, bending in late. Karthik played it across the line and was struck on the pad. However, the UltraEdge showed a big spike, making it hard to determine if it was the bat hitting the pad or an inside edge. The third umpire, satisfied with the evidence, decided a bat was involved.

    This decision did not sit well with RR coach Kumar Sangakkara, who looked angry and immediately exited the dugout to speak with the fourth umpire. However, after commentators and fans reviewed additional replays, it appeared the spike was due to the bat hitting the pad, with a gap between the bat and the ball. Fans on X (formerly known as Twitter) were unhappy with the third umpire's decision and voiced their displeasure about the wicket not being given.

    As of writing this article, Avesh Khan got his man as Dinesh Karthik departed for 11 off 13 balls. In the allotted 20 overs, RCB has scored 172 runs while losing eight wickets. 

    Skipper Faf du Plessis scored 17 off 14 while Virat Kohli made 33 off 24. Cameron Green contributed 27 off 21 while Rajat Patidar smashed 34 off 22. Glenn Maxwell, like in most of the games he played this year, could not do much and departed for a duck. 

    Mahipal Lomror, who was attacking, also was sent back for 32 off 17 while Swapnil Singh (9 off 4) and Karn Sharma (5 off 4) got few at the end.

    For RR, Avesh Khan picked up three wickets while Ravichandran Ashwin had two. Trent Boult and Yuzvendra Chahal claimed one each.


    Royal Challengers Bengaluru (Playing XI): Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis(c), Rajat Patidar, Cameron Green, Glenn Maxwell, Dinesh Karthik(w), Mahipal Lomror, Karn Sharma, Yash Dayal, Mohammed Siraj, Lockie Ferguson

    Impact Subs: Swapnil Singh, Anuj Rawat, Suyash Prabhudessai, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Himanshu Sharma

    Rajasthan Royals (Playing XI): Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Sanju Samson(w/c), Riyan Parag, Dhruv Jurel, Rovman Powell, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Yuzvendra Chahal

    Impact Subs: Shubham Dubey, Donovan Ferreira, Nandre Burger, Shimron Hetmyer, Tanush Kotian.