IPL 2024 - KL Rahul departs for 5; fans troll LSG captain, say this is advantage for the team

    Quinton de Kock departed after scoring 12 off 8 balls, Marcus Stoinis was stumped for 5 off 7 while Deepak Hooda went for a duck.

    KL Rahul

    KL Rahul

    In Match 64 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024, while chasing 209 runs set by Delhi Capitals (DC), the Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) skipper KL Rahul departed early, scoring just 5 off 3 balls. Surprisingly, fans are pleased to see the captain depart early and believe this works in favour of LSG.

    Why are fans saying that? Many on X (formerly known as Twitter) believe that KL Rahul's gameplay is slow and he would have wasted balls, while others could get the job done faster, especially on the Arun Jaitley Stadium pitch, which is a belter with short boundaries.

    KL Rahul's wicket:

    Ishant Sharma delivered the outswinger following a sequence of inswingers, catching KL Rahul off guard as he attempted to loft the ball forward but lost all timing in the process. The result was a skewed shot in the air, which Mukesh Kumar managed to grasp with a very good catch, albeit on the second attempt. 

    As of the time of writing this article, Quinton de Kock departed after scoring 12 off 8 balls, Marcus Stoinis was stumped for 5 off 7 while Deepak Hooda went for a duck leaving the team at 44 for 4 after 4 overs.

    DC's innings:

    DC crossed the 200-run mark, but LSG will feel they have a chance to win this. Jake Fraser-McGurk departed for a duck, but Abishek Porel (58 off 33) and Shai Hope (38 off 27) put on a stand of 92, stabilizing the innings.

    Later, captain Rishabh Pant came on and struck a handy 33 off 23 balls before Tristan Stubbs finished with 57 off just 25 balls. Stubbs took his time for the first 20 balls or so before exploding.

    Ravi Bishnoi, through the middle overs, kept it tight and bowled flat and fast outside off, often beating the batters on the cut. However, what would hurt LSG were the couple of catches dropped by Bishnoi. Naveen-ul-Haq picked up two wickets, while Arshad Khan and Bishnoi picked up one each.


    Delhi Capitals (Playing XI): Abishek Porel, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Shai Hope, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Tristan Stubbs, Axar Patel, Gulbadin Naib, Rasikh Dar Salam, Mukesh Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed

    Impact Subs: Ishant Sharma, Kumar Kushagra, Praveen Dubey, Swastik Chikara, Lalit Yadav

    Lucknow Super Giants (Playing XI): KL Rahul(c), Quinton de Kock(w), Marcus Stoinis, Deepak Hooda, Nicholas Pooran, Krunal Pandya, Yudhvir Singh Charak, Arshad Khan, Ravi Bishnoi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Mohsin Khan

    Impact Subs: Manimaran Siddharth, Devdutt Padikkal, Ayush Badoni, Prerak Mankad, Krishnappa Gowtham