IPL 2024 - Rain interrupts Ahmedabad clash, fans displeased as sky matches GT's lavender jersey

    With this, GT is officially out of the tournament, while a top-two finish is confirmed for KKR.

    Shubman Gill in lavender jersey

    Shubman Gill in lavender jersey

    The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 witnessed the game on May 13 being interrupted by unseasonal rain in Ahmedabad. After the toss was delayed until 10:30 PM IST, Match 63 of the IPL between Gujarat Titans (GT) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) was abandoned. 

    With this, GT is officially out of the tournament, while a top-two finish is confirmed for KKR. Skippers Shreyas Iyer and Shubman Gill were both seen at the Narendra Modi Stadium having discussions, but the drizzle continued and the match was called off. Fans seemed unhappy to see a good game not being played as the sky-matched GT's jersey colour for today - was lavender.

    The two captains exchanged ribbons as part of Titans' breast cancer awareness initiative, followed by handshakes. GT received 1 point due to the game being abandoned due to bad weather, but they only reached 11 points. After two years of making it to the finals and even winning in their first year, this elimination will surely be a huge setback for the side.

    Talking about players, many overseas cricketers will be leaving for their national duties to prepare for the upcoming ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024. Jos Buttler has already left the Rajasthan Royals (RR) camp and will be joined by Will Jacks and Reece Topley of Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) as the England players start returning home ahead of the T20 World Cup. KKR will soon also see their main batter Phil Salt leave for the same reason.


    Gujarat Titans Squad: Shubman Gill(c), Sai Sudharsan, Shahrukh Khan, David Miller, Matthew Wade(w), Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Noor Ahmad, Umesh Yadav, Mohit Sharma, Kartik Tyagi, Sandeep Warrier, Abhinav Manohar, Sharath BR, Darshan Nalkande, Jayant Yadav, Joshua Little, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Spencer Johnson, Azmatullah Omarzai, Manav Suthar, Sushant Mishra, Vijay Shankar, Kane Williamson, Wriddhiman Saha

    Kolkata Knight Riders Squad: Philip Salt(w), Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Shreyas Iyer(c), Rinku Singh, Nitish Rana, Andre Russell, Ramandeep Singh, Mitchell Starc, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakaravarthy, Vaibhav Arora, Anukul Roy, Suyash Sharma, Rahmaah Gurbaz, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Manish Pandey, Dushmantha Chameera, Srikar Bharat, Chetan Sakariya, Sherfane Rutherford, Sakib Hussain, Allah Ghazanfar.