SEVENTEEN's new MV 'Spell' creates stir among locals, CARATs stand by group's artistic choices

    With Hoshi, Jun, The8, and Dino taking the spotlight, this song is part of their comeback album "17 IS RIGHT HERE".

    SEVENTEEN's new MV 'Spell'

    SEVENTEEN's new MV 'Spell'

    SEVENTEEN's most recent music video, "Spell," has been released, offering fans a magical experience as they eagerly anticipate the performance unit's latest enchantment. With Hoshi, Jun, The8, and Dino taking the spotlight, this song, part of their comeback album "17 IS RIGHT HERE," sweeps viewers into a realm of romance and fantasy.

    The 4-member sub-unit, each representing a card from the tarot deck, has fully embraced the Amapiano genre, evident in the song's hypnotic synth tones and lively drumbeat rhythms. Although their fandom, CARATs, has embraced the music video, local listeners encountering it for the first time appear underwhelmed. 

    Some have even voiced concerns that K-pop should maintain its originality and steer clear of the "Afrobeat" trend that was popularized by Tyla's hit song 'WATER'.

    However, amidst all the backlash, SEVENTEEN fans CARATs have remained loyal to their favourites and have supported them for their artistic choices.

    About '17 Is Right Here:

    On April 29, 2024, the album dropped, boasting 33 tracks that span the band's entire Korean-language discography from their debut until 2024. Alongside these hits are Korean adaptations of all their Japanese-language singles, plus four brand-new unreleased tracks, with "Maestro" leading the charge. 

    Subsequently, the hip-hop team unleashed "LALALI," the performance team presented "Spell," and the vocal team showcased "Cheers to Youth." 

    Furthermore, the group recently unveiled an interactive website loaded with an array of photos, lyrics, and exclusive keepsakes tailored for their devoted CARAT fanbase.

    SEVENTEEN members:

    Formed under Pledis Entertainment, the group comprises 13 members: S.Coups, Jeonghan, Joshua, Jun, Hoshi, Wonwoo, Woozi, DK, Mingyu, The8, Seungkwan, Vernon, and Dino. They had made their debut on May 26, 2015.

    As of May 25, 2020, Big Hit Entertainment, now rebranded as HYBE Labels became the major shareholder of PLEDIS Entertainment. Despite this ownership change, PLEDIS continues to maintain its autonomy and operates as an independent label within the HYBE family.