IPL 2024 Qualifier 1 - Shah Rukh Khan, Suhana and AbRam cheer as KKR restrict SRH to 159 runs

    Every bowler from KKR picked up wickets in the first playoff game at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

    Shah Rukh Khan, Suhana Khan and Abram

    Shah Rukh Khan, Suhana Khan and Abram

    What an innings it has been for Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), who have restricted Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) to just 159 runs all out in 19.3 overs in Qualifier 1 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024. Every bowler from KKR picked up wickets in the first playoff game at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

    KKR co-owner Shah Rukh Khan and his children Suhana Khan and AbRam were seen cheering and screaming for their side as the wickets kept falling in quick succession.

    SRH did not anticipate such a start, losing Travis Head for a duck and then having little success with Abhishek Sharma (3 off 4) after winning the toss and choosing to bat. As soon as Rahul Tripathi took the field, he attempted to stabilise the innings, but Nitish Reddy (9 off 10) and Shahbaz Ahmed (0 off 1) were dismissed early. After staying for a while and scoring 32 off 21, Heinrich Klaasen was dismissed by Varun Chakaravarthy.

    The drama unfolded when Abdul Samad and Rahul Tripathi miscommunicated, resulting in the latter being run out for 55 off 35. Abdul Samad left after making just 16 off 12 runs, while Sanvir Singh, who had been brought in as an impact substitute, was bowled for a duck later on. With 30 off 24, captain Pat Cummins played a vital innings at the finish, although he was not able to muster much with tailenders Bhuvneshwar Kumar (0 off 4) and Vijayakanth Viyaskanth (7 off 5).

    For KKR, Mitchell Starc proved his worth and stood up for his side when it was needed the most by taking 3 wickets, while Varun Chakaravarthy picked up two wickets. Vaibhav Arora, Sunil Narine, Harshit Rana, and Andre Russell all claimed one wicket each.


    Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Rahmaah Gurbaz(w), Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Shreyas Iyer(c), Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Ramandeep Singh, Mitchell Starc, Vaibhav Arora, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakaravarthy

    Impact Subs: Anukul Roy, Manish Pandey, Nitish Rana, KS Bharat, Sherfaine Rutherford

    Sunrisers Hyderabad (Playing XI): Travis Head, Abhishek Sharma, Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Reddy, Heinrich Klaasen(w), Abdul Samad, Shahbaz Ahmed, Pat Cummins(c), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth, T Natarajan

    Impact Subs: Sanvir Singh, Umran Malik, Glenn Phillips, Washington Sundar, Jaydev Unadkat.