IPL 2024 Qualifier 2 - Fans can't believe SRH's batting vs RR in Chennai, ask 'what is happening?'

    After their allotted 20 overs, SRH has posted 175 runs after losing nine wickets to RR.

    SRH vs RR

    SRH vs RR

    After turning the tides against Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) in their favour following a series of losses in the month of May, Rajasthan Royals (RR), who secured their spot in Qualifier 2 against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), have gotten off to a great start. The way SRH is batting, no one can believe this is the same side that scored the highest total in IPL history - 287 runs. 

    After winning the toss and opting to bowl at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, SRH lost 6 wickets in 15 overs and scored just 132 runs. Fans took to X (formerly known as Twitter) to ask what was wrong with the team in Orange and why they were batting so poorly.

    As for the clash, aiming to post a huge total, the otherwise in-form Abhishek Sharma departed for 12 off 5, followed by Rahul Tripathi who smashed 37 off 15. Aiden Markram, who was brought in for this game, was dismissed for just 1 of 2, while Travis Head was dismissed for 34 off 28. Heinrich Klaasen (50 off 34 balls) was at the crease trying to post runs while he lost partners at the other end. Nitish Rana (5 off 10) and Abdul Samad (0 off 1) did not help the cause. 

    Shahbaz Ahmed is now joined by skipper Pat Cummins trying to post a total they will be able to defend. After their allotted 20 overs, SRH has posted 175 runs after losing nine wickets to RR.

    For RR, Trent Boult and Avesh Khan have both picked three wickets each. Sandeep Sharma also contributed with two wickets. Although Yuzvendra Chahal did not take wickets, he did take three important catches.


    Sunrisers Hyderabad (Playing XI): Travis Head, Abhishek Sharma, Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Reddy, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen(w), Abdul Samad, Pat Cummins(c), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, T Natarajan

    Impact Subs: Umran Malik, Sanvir Singh, Glenn Phillips, Mayank Markande, Shahbaz Ahmed

    Rajasthan Royals (Playing XI): Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Sanju Samson(w/c), Riyan Parag, Dhruv Jurel, Rovman Powell, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Yuzvendra Chahal

    Impact Subs: Shimron Hetmyer, Nandre Burger, Shubham Dubey, Donovan Ferreira, Kuldeep Sen