IPL 2024 - RR crumble to 93/6 as Shahbaz Ahmed and Abhishek Sharma spin magic

    Spinners Shahbaz Ahmed and Abhishek Sharma have taken five wickets between them.

    Shahbaz Ahmed and Abhishek Sharma

    Shahbaz Ahmed and Abhishek Sharma

    While regular bowlers are doing what they are supposed to do, even the part-time bowlers, especially those of Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), have stepped up to help take their side into the Final of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024.

    In Qualifier 2, Rajasthan Royals (RR) restricted SRH to 175 runs. However, when chasing this total at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, things have not gone in their favour. What's shocking is that spinners Shahbaz Ahmed and Abhishek Sharma have taken five wickets between them.

    For RR, apart from Yashasvi Jaiswal, who scored 42 off 21, the other batsmen—Tom Kohler-Cadmore (10 off 16), Sanju Samson (10 off 11), Riyan Parag (6 off 10), Ravichandran Ashwin (0 off 3), and Shimron Hetmyer (4 off 10)—fell like a pack of cards.

    SRH skipper Pat Cummins took one wicket, while Shahbaz Ahmed picked up three, and part-time bowler Abhishek Sharma took two. Currently, RR has scored 113 in 16 overs and Rajasthan Royals need 63 runs in 24 balls but have no batters left to score.

    Earlier, after winning the toss and opting to bat first, Abhishek Sharma departed for 12 off 5, followed by Rahul Tripathi, who smashed 37 off 15. Aiden Markram, brought in for this game, was dismissed for just 1 off 2, while Travis Head was dismissed for 34 off 28. Heinrich Klaasen (50 off 34 balls) tried to post runs while losing partners at the other end. Nitish Rana (5 off 10) and Abdul Samad (0 off 1) did not help the cause. Shahbaz Ahmed played a cameo, scoring 18 off 18, while Jaydev Unadkat was run out for 5 off 2.

    For RR, Trent Boult and Avesh Khan each picked up three wickets. Sandeep Sharma also contributed with two wickets. Although Yuzvendra Chahal did not take wickets, he took three important catches.


    Sunrisers Hyderabad (Playing XI): Travis Head, Abhishek Sharma, Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Reddy, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen(w), Abdul Samad, Pat Cummins(c), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, T Natarajan

    Impact Subs: Umran Malik, Sanvir Singh, Glenn Phillips, Mayank Markande, Shahbaz Ahmed

    Rajasthan Royals (Playing XI): Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Sanju Samson(w/c), Riyan Parag, Dhruv Jurel, Rovman Powell, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Yuzvendra Chahal

    Impact Subs: Shimron Hetmyer, Nandre Burger, Shubham Dubey, Donovan Ferreira, Kuldeep Sen